The Greatest Manchester City Footballers of Recent Times

By | 11th September 2020

Since Sheikh Mansoor’s takeover in 2008, Manchester City Football Club have grown from strength to strength. In this twelve-year period, many great players have graced the Etihad Stadium. In this post, we take a look at ten of the greatest Manchester City footballers in recent times, in no particular order.

Pablo Zabaleta – Between 2008 and 2015, Zabaleta left an indelible mark on fans, pundits and the football club itself. Having joined the team prior to Sheikh Mansour’s takeover, he remained to form a crucial cornerstone of the sides that won the era’s first two leagues titles in 2011/2012 and 2013/2014.

Raheem Sterling – Under the supervision of Pep Guardiola, to whom the player ascribes much credit, Raheem Sterling has become one of the best players of his generation. Between 2017 and 2019, Sterling scored a mindboggling thirty-five goals and remains the lynchpin behind the team’s successes.

Joe Hart – Despite a decline in performances in recent years, Joe Hart was the iconic stalwart behind City’s assault on football competitions following Sheikh Mansour’s takeover. Between 2007 and 2016, the natural leader was an integral part of the team, as he bellowed at his teammates, inspiring countless moments of magic on the pitch.

Kevin De Bruyne – Still active in the team, De Bruyne continues to add to his much-envied list of accolades. Despite his career still being in progress, in some circles, De Bruyne is already considered one of City’s best footballers of all time! As the creative genius right behind City’s attack, the Belgian midfielder is well on track to break all assist records.

Yaya Toure – Despite recently being in the headlines for the wrong reasons, Yaya Toure joined the club at a crucial time and has become an icon of the era. Joining City in the summer of 2010 alongside David Silva, the partnership between the two wreaked havoc on opponents in midfield. Both players were pivotal to the 2011/2012 campaign in which the first league title during the Sheikh Mansour era was secured.